Going for a run in the maze

Thomas wakes up in the box with no memory of where he is or who he is, the only thing he has left is his name and the 50 faces staring at him. Now made into a major movie, this book will have you nibbling at your nails with tension.

                                                           The maze runner

First of all, let me say that Dylan O’Brien makes the perfect Thomas in the movie adaptation. In fact, all of the casting choices were spot on.

With that out of the way let’s get onto the book. So far I’ve only read the first book with the rest of the series still on my shelf at home. I wanted to give myself time to soak up the first book before I started on the second, and to be honest I don’t think my heart can take another one just yet.

Don’t let the movies 12A rating fool you, this book is pure spook and will creep you out thoroughly. The whole mystery of where they and who the creators are keeps you on your toes the whole time, even at the end when certain things are revealed. There’s a sense of urgency throughout the book that I can’t quite explain. It’s like a panicked calm, that you just can’t quite put your finger on.

You really feel for Thomas, but he is a little bit Holden Caulfield in his personality and can come off kind of annoying and sometimes you just want to slap him for being whiny.

I’m not a huge fan of the drama novels and tend to steer towards the romances, so I was surprised to really love this book. Of course I like other’s similar in the Genre like Divergent and The Hunger Games but none of them have appealed me in the form of a book.

The story line plays on your emotions and makes you feel childish to the point where your childhood nightmares of being alone in the world start to re-emerge.

To be honest, I’m not sure that I will read any other books by James Dashner other than The Maze Runner series, but I know I’m going to enjoy what I have left to read.

Overall score: 7/10 (not my usual kind of book but very enjoyable and gripping to the last second).

If you liked this post then be sure to go ahead and follow my blog. If you’ve got any questions or just want to say hi be sure to leave a comment or tweet me at: @CharBennett_


Have a great day!

Photo Credit: mazerunnerbook.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

