My 2015 must read book list: Part 2

This is the second part to my 2015 must read book list in which I talk about the books I will be reading in the new year. So enjoy and maybe make a few suggestions for me, maybe your favourite book?

  1. Waiting for Godot – Samuel Beckett

Godot

This has been something I’ve been recommended over the course of about 4 years from various English teachers and Drama classes. So I decided to give Beckett a chance and read Waiting for Godot – Which is a French play about 2 men waiting for someone called Godot while many other stories play out during the time they wait.

  1. The Road – Cormac McCarthy

the road

This was one of the books I studied in my first year of college, alongside a very interesting study of The Taming of the Shrew (Shakespeare) this was a good contrast for my young mind. At first I really hated the book. It was kind of ‘pointless’ because the story goes on for ages but nothing happens in the end, but after rereading it and understanding it more, I started to really rate it. Gentle overview, about a nameless man and boy in a dystopian future trying to find something to live for, very reliant on metaphors and retrospective memories.

3.The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

hitchhikers

My dad, and almost every geek out there will rate this book (mainly the movie. FUN FACT scene of that movie were filmed in my village). So I am adding this book to several other fantasy books on my list.

  1. Atonement – Ian McEwan

atonement

Got to admit that this is on my list purely for the film, I mean who doesn’t love James McAvoy?! But I fell in love with the story when I watched the movie that I had to include the book in my list. I highly recommend this if you love the movie (even though unread thus far) because I know it’s going to be wonderful

  1. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

book theif

I’ve had this book sat on my shelf for a while now, I did read it once when I first bought it but since then I haven’t touched it. It’s a very emotional story for me and I found it hard to read in long sessions but it was a truly fantastic book. Also, check out the movie afterwards because reading the book first will make it a different experience for you.

  1. Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden

geisha

Again, this is a book that’s on the list due to me loving the film adaptation. I love the story of Chiyo and I feel like she can be the perfect role model for someone who love literature. She’s strong, brave and puts others first before herself (although sometimes selfish). She’s real  to me, she’s what I think is a real character.

7.Bridget Jones’ Diary – Helen Fielding

bridget

My mum rates this book so much that that’s the only reason I need to read the book. I also studied a section for my second year college exams and it was brilliant from what I read. Classic British comedy in one little book!

8.Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy

madding

I’ve got a fair few of Hardy’s books and I would probably say he’s my favourite period author. But this is my favourite of his novels. I hate Bathsheba most of the time which is what I love about the book. She lives in Victorian England and takes no sh*t from anybody. She knows she doesn’t need a man to keep her happy and she let’s everyone know about it. Truly amazing for the early 1800’s.

  1. Tender is the Night – F.Scott Fitzgerald

tender

I know very little about this book but if The Great Gatsby if anything to go then this is going to be amazing. I do know that it’s set in a similar time and is also a love/hate tragedy/drama novel but that’s practically all I’ve got. But I will be reading this book with a large amount of wonder.

  1. The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien

hobbit

I’ll let you into a little secret…..I really love Tolkiens work. So much so that I actually tried learning Quenya once (managed to learn a fair bit. Now I can only remember Namarie). So I decided I would confront my fears of reading this mammoth of a book with a fresh new year.

If you liked this post check out Part 1 of my 2015 reading list. You can subscribe to my blog, like this and even hit me up on twitter at: @CharBennett_

Have a Great Day!

Part 3 coming early 2015**

Photo Credits: Goodreads.com / Amazon.com

2 thoughts on “My 2015 must read book list: Part 2

Leave a Reply

