Broken by Kelly elliott – a book I want more of

Whitley is running from her abusive ex in New York city, Layton is trying to get over the pain of the past after losing his mum and brother. When one day they meet in a back road of Llano, Texas it all changes for the both of them.

91AxGNRMOYL._SL1500_

first of all, I didn’t have high hopes for this book. The cover art was stock photo style and didn’t appeal to me, but something spoke to me and made me read it, and boy am I glad I did!

I really enjoyed this book even though there were some parts that I thought were a little bit ‘unbelievable. Like the fact that Whitley can change her mind about Layton so quickly and that Layton just happened to be in jewelry store when it was the perfect moment, but it was still a great read.

Their relationship seems very real to me and so do the relationships of those around them. Reed and Courtney and their love/hate relationship (Courtney and Reed are Layton and Whitley best friends). Layton taking care of Kate and Jen now that Mike has gone (Mike is his brother who died in the war, Jen and Kate are his family). I felt a connection Layton in this book which is strange because usually in two way telling books I connect more with the girl, but Layton just had something about him that made me want to comfort him and punch him at the same time.

This is quite a sweet book with a little bit of fire and tragedy thrown in. Mostly it’s infuriating because Layton and Whitley stay away from each other so long, and then once that’s been overcome you get annoyed with Courtney and Reed for the same reasons.

In all honesty it’s one of the most enjoyable books I’ve read on my Kindle in a while, I’m always trying to read the books that get suggested to me by Amazon and usually they’re either really crappy or semi-okay. This one was a pleasant read that had me itching for more, luckily for me there’s another book where the stars are Courtney and Reed.

Overall, I highly suggest you download this book off Kindle, it is free so there’s no excuse not to.

Overall score: 8/10 (very good book but could do with some improvements)

If you enjoyed this post don’t hesitate to like it or comment below, I also love to hear from you on Twitter at: @CharBennett_

Posts are on Tuesday and Friday unless stated otherwise on my Twitter.

Have a great day!

Photo Credit: Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

