My 2015 must read book list: Part 4

Part 4 to my must read book list: 2015 is slightly themed, with liars, socialites and lots of secrets. These are book 31-41 of my book list. You can find Part 1 here, Part 2 here and Part 3 here. Enjoy!

1. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

American_gods

I understand very little of this book, aside from it being about a blend of different mythologies to form a story about a man called Shadow, a convict on a journey across America with his boss, who is a conman.

Photo credit: Wikipedia

2. The A-List by Zoey Dean

the a list

Like gossip girl only with more class and better storylines. The A-list is a book that has been raved about by many girls on Pinterest. and I can see why. The plot summary looks interesting and full of plot twists as well as some hot guys thrown into the mix, What’s not to love?

Photo credit: Wikipedia

3. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

The-Rosie-Project

Essentially The Big Bang Theory in a book. This is the story of an autistic man who quizzes girls to find the perfect mate, when Rosie comes out with every answer ‘wrong’ they form a bond. I’m excited to read this, it’s a little bit different from the other books and sounds really cute.

Photo Credit: goodreads.com

4. First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen

21853633

This is another book I know little about. I know that it’s about 3 women called the Waverleys with different adventures happening in their lives at the time, all intertwining with each others. I’ve heard good things about this book though, so fingers crossed its a brilliant read.

Photo Credit: goodreads.com

5. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

PLL-Book-01

Honestly, I’m only going to read this book because of the show. I watched season 1 on Netflix and it was okay. The storylines were great, but it was like the dialogue was written by a 12-year old girl. But, I will give the book a chance because if movies were honest for the books, we’d all be illiterate.

Photo Credit: pretty-little-liars.wikia

6. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

tumblr_ktx2ijHDxI1qzcp6io1_1280

I’ve heard snippets of info about this book, what I do know is that it’s supposed to be quite deep and disturbing, that the girls in the novel all end up committing suicide and that there’s some teenage angst in between. This is one of the books I’m not overly ecstatic to read but am curious to what it’s like.

Photo Credit: silk.tumblr.com

7. The Boston Girl by Anita Diament

22450859

This is a book I’m excited about because it seems like it’s going to be one of those little gem’s you cherish forever. About an old woman named Addie who moves to Boston with her family in the early 1900s she tells the story of her life to her grand-daughter. It’s a sort of bildungsroman / retrospective mash up.

Photo Credit:

8. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

BOOK Book Reviews 11514819042

This book soared to No. 1 recently and has been critically acclaimed as gripping and suspenseful. What I know is that it’s about a girl who witnesses something horrific for a split second on her usual commute and gets involved in a huge police case. It’s supposed to be like Gone Girl (although I’ve not read it or seen the movie).

Photo Credit: thislittlebagofdreams.wordpress.com

9. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

tumblr_inline_mxxm38F17d1qdbpr9

This is one of the novels we could have chosen to do in English Literature in my first year of college, but I chose The Great Gatsby. But now that I know what this is about, it’s intrigued me. In a nutshell, it’s about an afghan man who looks after his dead friends son, teaching him the old ways etc. And it is tragic and happy at the same time.

Photo Credit: analectablog.tumblr.com

10. Beautiful Redemption by Jamie McGuire

beautiful.redemption.cover

If you’ve ever read Beautiful Disaster or Walking Disaster you’ll know the Maddox family. This book is about Travis’ older brother Thomas and his story with Liis (both FBI agents). Jamie has a unique and sweet style of telling stories so if you want something romantic but not smutty then this is for you.

Photo Credit: jamiemcguire.com

Thanks for reading, and keep your eyes peeled int he future for the final part of my 2015 books list. I feel 50 books is the right amount to aspire to. Any suggestions for my next book list? Send them over to me on Twitter at: @CharBennett_ and I’ll be sure to look into them.

Have a great day!!

One thought on “My 2015 must read book list: Part 4

Leave a Reply

