What Kimmy Schmidt taught me about books.

I’ve been binge-watching the Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt on Netflix for the past 2 days, and It’s my new favourite show. If there’s 1 thing I’ve learnt from this glorious masterpeice it’s to accept who you are and don’t take any crap for it.

unbreakable_kimmy_schmidt_a_l

As a lover of chick-lit and cheesy stories, I’m often exposed to the ridicule of people because to them my tastes are ‘trashy’ and ‘not very well written’. But that’s exactly what they are, they’re my tastes. I could easily pass judgement on crime novels and say that it’s always to underdog who’s done to nasty, or comment on horror novels and say that they’re all based on the same old stories of a guy wearing a mask or someone with parent issues.

So what did Kimmy teach me? She taught me that it doesn’t matter what you like to do, or what interests you have, no-one can judge you on those unless you let them. She doesn’t take crap off anyone for her flashing trainers or her love of the babysitters club, she just accepts who she is and gets on with it, and this should be applied to everything.

That got kind of off topic, but my point is that no matter what you live to read, whether it’s a guilty pleasure for fifty shades, or a love of 19th Century men wearing tight pants and shooting game, it’s your choice whether it’s good or not, no one elses.

Be sure to like this post if you enjoyed it or say hi over on Twitter at: @CharBennett_

anigif_enhanced-21972-1425663224-12

Not relevant to my blog post but my favourite gif from the show so deal with it!

Have a great day! Or in the words of Kimmy “Troll the re-spawn, Jeremy!”

Photo credit: IGN

Leave a Reply

