Never Forget – A really sweet book

Set in the lovely Devonshire countryside, Lexy is spending the summer with her family visiting her grammy, much to her dismay. She meets Alec, a bit of a player but has good intentions and their romance blossoms. This book is really sweet, and probably a good choice for a YA newbie.

????????????????????????????????????????

To start off with, I wasn’t expecting to like this book as much as I did. The blurb was kind of misleading and made it sound really ‘samey’ to some of the crap you can find on Kindle store nowadays (the kind called “my sexy dreams” or something equally as unappealing) but it really did surprise me. I wouldn’t really recommend this book o anyone under the age of 16 unless they were more mature, because even though it’s a pair of 17-19 year olds, there is some heavy sexual content and can be a little bit 18+ at times, but other than those parts, it was charming.

The people in the book seemed ‘real’ in the sense that they weren’t overly fabricated, and they had flaws that normal people have. Lexy is prejudice, she’s a little bit spoilt and she’s not 100% sure on the dangers of the world (like most teenage girls) and Alec is overly confident, has many insecurities and has dealt with a loss many people have themselves. It makes them really well rounded and believable as characters.

I do have a little bit of a peeve with the book though as there were times where it seemed like there was unnecessary chapters (kind of). There were a few times where the writer has tried to offer an alternate perspective by voicing the thoughts of the other character straight after the primary chapter, and it’s just 100 words that don’t really need to be there.

Other than that, this book was a very good read and I will probably read this again in the near future. I’ll also be reading the other books in the series as I bought them in a bundle, and this first one was pretty good.

Overall score: 8/10 really good story and felt familiar to me but felt forced and a bit cheesy at times.

What others are saying about this book:

Rachel R from goodreads: When I read Never Forget, it took me back to my childhood and high school days. 4/5

Belinda from goodreads: Ahh this book, I honestly cannot stop this giddy feeling I have right now. 4/5

Julia from goodreads: On a whole this book was alright. It was a cute teen romance that didn’t require much thinking, and it doesn’t go into much depth. 3/5

This book is currently free on Amazon Kindle, so if you’d like to check it out you can get it from there. If you enjoyed my review, please don’t hesitate to leave me a comment, like my post or follow me. You could also say hi over on Twitter at: @CharBennett_

Have a great day!

Photo credit: Pinterest – original source uncertain

Leave a Reply

