The Enemy by Charlie Higson

*This is a guest post by Ellie Rose*

When the sickness came, every parent, police officer, politician – every adult fell ill. The lucky ones died. The others are crazed, confused and hungry. Only children under the fourteen remain, and they’re fighting to survive. Now there are rumours of a safe place to hide. And so a gang of children begin their quest across London, where all through the city – down alleyways, in deserted houses, underground – the grown-ups lie in wait. But can they make it there – alive?

91s0CGEWTWL._SL1500_

This book is an all-time favourite of mine. I am a big zombie lover; I love anything to do with zombies, whether it be books, movies, etc. So, when I saw this, in a feeble attempt at looking for some source of entertainment before getting on a plane, I was immediately drawn to the title and the design of the book. Now, when I first started reading this book, I was put off a little as it didn’t seem very well written and didn’t exactly grasp me, however, I didn’t give up and gave the book the chance it deserved. It then became to be one of my favourite series of books as I now have 5 out of the 7 books in the series.

The thing that drew me in the most was the storyline. Your general zombie story is that it infects everyone and anyone, but what I love about this is how it’s only the adults which get infected leaving children as young as 5 to defend for themselves and it shows their points of view and how they’re dealing.

This was the first time that I had seen a zombie story take this turn – with it being from the kid’s point of view – which was extremely refreshing and new. The stories don’t take the general ‘kill anyone and everyone’ style and does have some very interesting takes on the zombies. You even get the chance to see things from some of the zombie’s points of view, which is super cool and not very often done. It can get quite gruesome and sad at times, as is expected with this kind of story, but I feel like it really grasps the essence of childhood and how their minds work.

There also isn’t one specific main character, you follow the stories of at least three different groups of children at a time who are all surviving in their own ways. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in zombie-type books (and I have already to lots of people) as it is different, unique, and just a damn good read.

Overall score: 8/10

What others are saying about this book:

Aaron on Goodreads: Perhaps the most brutal and goriest YA dystopia novel I ever read. It’s bloodfest almost every chapter. 4/5

Priscilla on Goodreads: SO GROSS. And yet so satisfying. Recommended for those with an iron stomach and are not ‘faint of heart’.  4/5

Wendy on Goodreads: It’s an interesting story that keeps you engaged, and features terrific action sequences. 3/5

I hope you enjoyed this review and you can always follow me on Twitter at: @demonackless

You could also like this post and follow this blog as Charlotte works very hard on it (so I’ve heard). You can also follow her on Twitter at: @CharBennett_ if you want to chat.

Photo credit: amazon.co.uk

Leave a Reply

