Eurovision Song Contest 2015: Semi-Final 1 recap

Last night was the first night in the Eurovision Song Contest 2015. I watch Eurovision every year, getting excited months before the show itself and even going so far as to going to ESC parties beforehand. I think it’s fair to say that I can get emotional at this time of year, and I don’t deal well with losing.

Last night, I live tweeted the show from my cosy spot on the couch (using my tablet so there are lots of spelling mistakes) and waited for the unmistakable sound of Eurovisions theme tune. I tweeted this:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-21-09

Yes, I was so excited, and it wasn’t even the final!

While live tweeting I was taking part in a group chat on Facebook too, so my busy typing is obviously reflected in the tweets.

First up was Moldova:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-20-31

In proper English > Not too keen on Moldova this year. It’s catchy enough but not too original.


The song was catchy, but it sounded like every other cheesy pop song ever performed in the history of time. Very happy they aren’t in the Final.

Then we saw an appearance from who I like to think are using magic, Armenia:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-19-55

I mean, there is no way they should have gotten through to the final, they must be sacrificing virgins or something?! They should have been replaced by Belarus or The Netherlands. Outrageous!

 

Up next was the vampire known in the common world as Loic from Belgium:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-19-12

To be fair, Rhythm inside is a really catchy song so well deserved Belgium. But it was a little flat for  a live performance. Let’s hope he does better in the final?

 

The Netherlands were next with Trijntje singing a catchy song. Can I get a why ay ay ay?

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-15-12
She looked a bit like ‘Dawn French does Eurovision’ but the song does get stuck in your head, they should have replaced Romania or Aremenia in my opinion.

Our friends from Finland were next up:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-14-57
Not the best song, it was a little bit ‘samey’ in the melody, but they brought something different with their song this year, because most of them are very ballad/pop based, it added a little bit of spice to the show.

Greece is never really fantastic are they?

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-14-40I never really love the music Greece puts out into Eurovision. They like to copy what was popular the year before, so even though they manage to get through to the final, they don’t have a huge chance of winning.

Conchita rocked the Green room.

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-14-23
Conchita is love, Conchita is life.

Fan favourites Estonia were on after Greece, I’m willing to say Goodbye to Yesterday if you are?             

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-14-04

Elina and Stig are a really strong duo this year. I think they could be very close to winning ESC 2015, along with Sweden (if they qualify) and Australia.

One of my other favourites FYR Macedonia were next up:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-13-28

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-13-02

I love the recorded version of Daniel’s song, but last night he played with his vocals and messed up the song, losing him a place in the final. Idiot!

We got a shot of ego boost from Serbia:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-12-44

Serbia’s song this year is just what is needed for an ego boost. Beauty never lies is all about loving what you’ve got. Well done Serbia!

Kate Middleton was next….. I mean Boggie with Hungary:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-12-24

Aside from the fact that she looks a little bit like Kate, she’s also a really talented singer, and the song is really beautiful. Gaining herself a place in the final, it was well deserved.

BELARUS, BELARUS!:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-12-01

I feel like my world has been ripped out from underneath my feet. Belarus should have gotten through last night, If the UK were allowed to vote, Armenia and Romania would not be in the final. Enough said #UzariandMaimuna4ever

Russia picked a difficult song:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-11-43

Russia have caused some problems this year since the politics and stuff are getting in the way. The song is okay, the dress was gorgeous, but Russia is nowhere near as good as they were made out to be. Scott Mills you are deceptive!

Denmark were up next:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-10-55

I really think this song was a lot better than some of the others, and was a little more realistic if you want to draw in a younger crowd, so I think these guys should have been put through.

Albania are another of my favourites:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-10-36

I’m really glad Elhaida got through, I thought she was one of the weaker candidates of my favourites this year, but despite the Belarus fiasco, they still got through. Well done Elhaida!

The should not have gone through band – Romania:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 11-11-13

I’ve already voiced my pinion of these guys, let’s just say I’m disgusted with the rest of Europe right now.

Last but not least was Georgia:

screenshot-twitter.com 2015-05-20 13-03-03

Nina is smokin, and her outfit is on point. The song is great, her diction needs work though. ‘Warrior=wire’

If you enjoyed this post, be sure to look out for Semi-Final 2 on Friday. You can also follow me on Twitter at: @CharBennett_ to follow my live tweets, and like me on Facebook too.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

