My June Playlist: New music to get you groovin’

Last month, I showed you what I had queued up on my playlist at the time. This month, I have more artists, some awesome music for you to check out and a little bit of swooning.

Below are the artists I’ve been putting on a loop recently, ranging from pop to rock to a bit of in between, I hope you find something you can enjoy.

The Pretty Reckless – Going to Hell

The_Pretty_Reckless_-_Going_To_Hell_(Official_Album_Cover)

This album has been out for a bit now, and I’m only just getting really into it (mainly because I’m re-watching Gossip Girl from season 1 and OMG JENNY!)

But yeah, this is such a good album for chilling out in the sun to. It’s kind of heavy, but Taylor’s voice is really husky and just makes you feel chilled out.

Photo credit: wikipedia

Marco Mengoni – Parole In Circolo

mengoni-cover-Parole-in-circolo-ok-

It’s no secret that I love Marco Mengoni if you take a glance at my Twitter. This is his newest album, released early this year and i’ve got to say, I did prefer his earlier work. However, this is such a varied album, and can go from dance music to slow and soft the next minute.

It can be strange at first the listen to music in another language (this is in Italian) but once you get used to it, you start to understand what the lyrics mean. Italian is one of my newest languages so I’m still pretty new, but even if you don’t know the meaning of the words you can get a feel for the music.

Photo credit: radiosubasio

Set if Off – Duality

setitoffalbum

I first heard of these guys when they were supporting Yellowcard a few years ago at a gig I went to. I was lucky enough to meet the sing Cody, without knowing how much I would love them years from that day.

This album just makes you want to get up and dance!

They have a theatrical kind of vibe to them, a little bit silly, but perfectly put together.

Photo credit: Rocksound

Sia – 1000 Forms of Fear

Sia_-_1000_Forms_of_Fear

I’m not usually into mainstream music, it tends to seem bland and generic to me a lot of the time. Now Rihanna, Beyonce, Nicki Minaj and Iggy Azalea all sound exactly the same.

But Sia caught my attention, because she’s weird!

I’m not talking about her habits of not showing her face in interviews or her love for dressing Maddie up in wigs and skin coloured leotards. I’m talking about her music. It’s weird because it’s raw and realistic and makes sense, especially songs like Big Girls Cry.

Photo credit: thelineofbestfit

Yellowcard – Southern Air

Southern_Air_cover_by_Yellowcard

Southern Air came out a couple of years ago now, but every summer I whip it back out of my collection and listen to it on repeat at least 5 times. It’s just one of those albums to put on when driving with all the windows down.

Yellowcard have been a big part of my musical choices over the last 4 years, and they’re a bonding tool for my and my boyfriend, so there are only happy memories from this album.

Photo credit: wikipedia

Honorary Mention:

I The Mighty – Connector

ItheMighty-Connector-hires.600x600-75

I’ve already spoken about this album in my May playlist and also in my album review (which you should totally check out by the way) but I really have had this album on repeat since it came through my door on June 2nd. I highly suggest you buy this album.

Photo credit: rippletunes

If you enjoyed this post, be sure to give it a like, follow my blog for emails and new blog posts and don’t be shy! I love to chat so let me know what you think of these bands over on Twitter at: @CharBennett_ or over on my Facebook page.

Have a Great Day!

2 thoughts on “My June Playlist: New music to get you groovin’

Leave a Reply

