Kissed – Too cute for words [A review]

It’s the typical boy meets girl story. Beth is mousy, bookish and ahead of her class in high school. When British/American rocker Jacob moves in next door, she can’t help but fall in love with him. Over the course of 2 years in school, they develop a friendship. When Jacob goes back to England for College, their relationship is put to the test and they slowly start to drift apart.

Once Beth graduates, she surprises Jacob with a trip to go and see him, where things quickly turn into something more….

new kissed crop with text

Let’s start with saying, I think this book is so cute its unbelievable. It’s a little bit cheesy and can feel a little bit Disney at time, but it starts to speed up a bit more halfway through the book and by that time I was hooked.

What did I like about this book?

It was just a really sweet story. I love the whole rockstar/mousy girl storylines, maybe because I have a secret fantasy of being swept off my own feet someday by a charming rocker. The story just works, and in my mind you can never really go wrong with it.

I always really liked how their relationship spanned over several years. Sometimes with these kinds of books, the couple end up declaring undying love for each other after a month or two, so the fact it was more realistic and was stretched out felt a lot more natural to me.

I also love the characters, especially Jacob. I picture him as Ross Lynch from R5, what a cutie.

What didn’t I like?

I didn’t really like the way the author didn’t notify you when the narrator changed. it was kinds of like “so Jacob’s talking now or is it Beth?”. I’m used to writers like Abbi Glines and Jamie Mcguire labelling their chapters with whoever is speaking, so it threw me off a little.

I also found Jacobs ‘accent’ a little insulting. As a born and bred Briton, I think the author overdid it with the whole “‘ello govner” attitude. And not everyone over here calls you ‘love’ – you’re more likely to be called a profanity than something so endearing.

Who would I recommend this to?

I think this is a great book for the younger crowd, but there is some sex, so if you’re not really at that stage in romance, skip this one. I think the older Teenagers and young adult will enjoy this more, so read away!

Overall Rating: 9/10 – A really nice and short read that I would definitely read again, I got hooked so easily by the charm of the book.

What others are saying about this book:

Angela on Goodreads: If you have ever crushed on someone and then put into the “friend zone” you will totally relate to this story.  4/5

Heather on Goodreads: This book was addicting. Loved the banter between Beth and Jake. This book was all angst. My favorite kind of book! 5/5

Michelle on Goodreads: Who among us hasn’t crushed on the older, out of our league “bad” boy? 4/5

Thanks for reading, if you enjoyed this post be sure to show me some support by liking it, following me or letting me know what you thought over on Twitter at: @CharBennett_ or over on my Facebook page. I love to chat about books, and I’m happy to give you recommendations.

Have a great day!

Photo credit: carlakrae.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

