I got bitten by the reading bug…..

Believe it or not, as a book blogger I’ve not always been an avid reader. As a kid my time was spent running through fields and farmland, feeding an adorable calf for a time, playing kirby and sitting on my own with my polly pocket. Reading to me was a bore, I never really understood the ones who liked it so much. You know the ones, the quiet ones who constantly had a Jacqueline Wilson book in their draw at school and never wanted to play hopscotch at lunchtime.

Then, when I was 12 years old, I read my first proper book. It was The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank and I was so proud of myself for finishing it. However, it wasn’t destined to be the kickstarter I needed to become the book freak I am today.

That role was left to the YA genre.

DSC00232

Spring 2012 and I was in my final year of High school, spending most of my time hanging out with my small village’s version of the art freaks in Mean Girls, spending too much money in the local sweet shop on brain lickers and being a carefree teenager when the time came to leave school for college. The C word was a scary as ever, and in lieu of my new beginning, I picked up a seriously annoying habit. Reading.

Oh yes, as a 16 year old with nothing to do I picked up a book. This book would turn out to be Beautiful Disaster by Jamie Mcguire.

Of course at first I was drawn in by the pretty cover and the promise of a love I would never forget, and it just so happened to be the first taste of the wonderful world of books.

JMC_BeautifulDisaster_Cover-e1333664180331

After I discovered Jamie McGuire, I then discovered who is now my favourite author Abbi Glines. when I first picked up her book Because of Low in my local bookshop, I had no idea the lengths my obsession would get to, now I’ve met her, had my favourite books signed and I carry on loving her work.

But that’s not the end of it. I’ve had my life brightened by these YA romance novels, not only making me a hopeless romantic, but it’s given me this blog.

Without books, I wouldn’t have something I am so passionate to write about, I wouldn’t have met any of the lovely people on Twitter who share my love for literature and I wouldn’t have the drive I do today.

I also wouldn’t have been let into the worlds of so many different books. From C.J Duggan to Jessica Sorensen. To recent acquaintances and books from people like Jack Jordan, J.C Hannigan and B.R Maycock.

I suppose my message is, if you’re thinking of taking up a new hobby that you aren’t too sure about, or you lack something in your life that could make it so much more wonderful, just do it. Find something new and try it out, even if it doesn’t work out the way you had planned, you still did something new. Even if that something is as simple as reading a new book.

Thank you for reading this blog post, and I’m looking forward to hearing from you about your hobbies, what you love so much about reading or why an author changed your life. You can find me over on Twitter all day at: @CharBennett_ or over on my Facebook page that has been a little bit neglected recently (oops!).

Have a great day!

Photo Credit: JamieMcGuire.com

One thought on “I got bitten by the reading bug…..

Leave a Reply

