Sex, Lies & Cruising [blog tour blitz review]

Ellie is on a cruise for the foreseeable future and on her first night ends up sleeping with a gorgeous guy. Ellie’s antics aboard the cruise ship are funny, refreshing and had me cackling over and over again. working in the cruise ships pic stop, Ellie’s summer is about to get crazy.

sex lies and cruising

This book was an unexpected delight, not because I had no faith in Cathryn’s writing abilities, but because I tend to go for more ‘girl next door’ kind of books, and the protagonists are usually a lot younger and wholesome, but Ellie was such a refreshing character, and it was a nice change to read something a little bit different.

What did I like about this book?:

I think the thing I enjoyed the most was the british humour. As a born and bred Brit I loved the way the story was written, from Ellie’s eyes as a typical 20-something. Her life had been pretty typical, with a crappy ex-boyfriend and hopes and dreams to be a photographer, she is a really relatable character to most people, especially people like me who also have aspirations and romantic hopes.

I also enjoyed the pace of the story, at first it seems quite fast but then it slows down and gets a really steady rhythm, so not too much is going on at the same time but just enough that you’re not skipping pages to get  to a juicy bit.

What I didn’t like so much:

I suppose it’s not too much of a fault, but I’m so used to American novels now that I feel out of my comfort zone when I read something British. Of course i really enjoyed the book and this is more of a personal preference than anything, but I tend to find that american books appeal to me more because I’m British. Everyone likes to live in a dream world right?

Who would I recommend this to?

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a change of pace, something with some sun, sea and romance but funny enough to not be cheesy. It’s quite a good starting read to anyone who’s not so used to the YA/chick lit genre but would like to get a taste of it without it being too smutty.

Overall rating: 9/10. the only downside is my preference to American novels, otherwise it’s pretty perfect.

Thanks for reading, if you enjoyed this post be sure to show me some support by liking it, following me or letting me know what you thought over on Twitter at: @CharBennett_ or over on my Facebook page. I love to chat about books, and I’m happy to give you recommendations.

I’d also like to send thanks to Samantha March over at Chick Lit Plus for being so great during today’s Blog tour. She’s been great to work alongside and has been a huge help. go follow her on Twitter at: @chicklitplus

Also, If you’ve also read this book be awesome for me and leave a review on Cathryn’s amazon page? It always helps new authors to get honest feedback on their books, so head on over to give your review.

Special thanks to Cathryn Chapman as well for letting me be a part of this, and for writing such a fantastic book. You can find all of her links below:

Find Cathryn here:

Website: www.cathrynchapman.net

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chapman.author

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Cathryn_Chapman

Amazon: http://bookgoodies.com/a/B00W85ZX2K

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/sex-lies-and-cruising/id987736128

B&N: www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sex-lies-and-cruising-cathryn-chapman/1121785596

Have a great day!

2 thoughts on “Sex, Lies & Cruising [blog tour blitz review]

Leave a Reply

