Forever Mine – Elizabeth Reyes [A Review]

Sarah just moved to California because her mum is in prison for theft. Not sarah’s ideal plan, especially since her best friend Sydney is still in Arizona. When Sarah meets Angel Moreno on her first day of school, she’s taken aback by his looks and he is in love with her eyes. After a few weeks of ignoring each other, things start to happen, until Angel finds out that Syd is a guy, and he doesn’t believe a guy can be ‘just friends’ with a girl.

15732569

I had low expectations for this book, and that’s nothing to do with the capabilities of the author or the less than perfect cover, I just didn’t feel like it was going to be great, but I got it on a whim and gave it a try.

I think the problem is that most of the books on Kindle that are free are self-published, so the cover never makes you feel like it will be special. The cover for this book just didn’t seem like it was fitting for it.

What was great about it?

This book exceeded my expectations immensely. I really enjoyed reading about Sarah and Angel, and the emotions and thoughts between them both are very ‘human’ for a YA book. They acted like real teenagers who are in love, with the jealousy and the trust issues every young couple gets, it felt like it was a perfect example of young love to me.

I also really enjoyed the pace of the book, it wasn’t too fast with the main characters telling each other how much they love each other like Romeo and Juliet. It had a nice steady pace where you could invest yourself in the book without feeling like you are being rushed or like it’s dragging on too much.

What wasn’t so great?

Honestly, I think the story itself was a little bit generic. That’s saying something since all YA novels have a similar plot, but aside from her mum being in prison and her best friend being a straight guy it was just your typical girl meets boy story, which is fine, but it wasn’t anything special.

Overall score: 6.5/10 it was a fine story, written well and had a good pace but felt too generic for my tastes. This would be a good book for someone younger, who wants to read more about the older teen relationships without all of the smut.

What others are saying about this book:

Kay on Goodreads: I don’t think I’ve ever read a book that was solely focused on a romance without a big plot so it was a bit arduous to read at times. I need a good plot to keep me entertained. 2/5

Jess on Goodreads: This is probably one of the cutest books I’ve read in a long time. This is my first book by Elizabeth Reyes, but I’ve already started on the second book in this series & have bought the rest of them. 4/5

Atmika on Goodreads: It is light hearted romance novel. It’s not bad but there is nothing breath-taking about it either. 3/5

Thanks for reading, if you enjoyed this post be sure to show me some support by liking it, following me or letting me know what you thought over on Twitter at: @CharBennett_ or over on my Facebook page. I love to chat about books, and I’m happy to give you recommendations.

Have a great day!

Photo credit: Goodreads

One thought on “Forever Mine – Elizabeth Reyes [A Review]

Leave a Reply

