#TVTalk – What it’s like to watch The Walking Dead Season 1 for the first time

I’ve never been the kind of person who likes gorey things. Until I got ill a few years back, I was even too squeamish to get my blood taken, so shows where blood is a normal thing is a little disconcerting.

giphy

The flowers died, just like my innocence.

I was looking through the box sets option on my sky box the other day, huffing that I couldn’t find anything decent that I hadn’t already watched, when I came across The Walking Dead. I’m not exactly a stranger to the show, I’ve sat with my boyfriend while he played the games on a few occasions, and I see it all the time on my tumblr and twitter feeds, but I’d never actually sat down to watch the show.

So I downloaded series one onto my Sky box with little enthusiasm, knowing the kinds of gore and violence I was getting myself into and hoped for the best, maybe I’d have a new favourites TV show?

It was Yesterday, at around 7pm when I got round to starting the show. I got in bed, where my makeshift den is, with a hot water bottle, some snacks (not that I could eat much when it started) and turned off the lights.

I got through 3 episodes that night, and 3 episodes tonight, both in the same conditions, and I wish I’d have watched it with the lights on.

What’s the show like?

The show is quite unique in my opinion. Most drama’s have this ability to make you feel anxious, for the characters or for animals or even for the story, but they all have it. It’s a tightness in your chest, and you sometimes find yourself on the edge of your seat until it’s over. But I found that TWD lacked that feeling.

I think I’m the most empathetic person on the earth (aside from Phoebe Halliwell of course), and I found it weird that the show lacked this feeling of urgency I tend to get when watching shows with so many risks. I think it’s because TWD has a way of making you feel calm in the bad situations, with the way Rick handles things, you kind of tap into that.

The show is quite fast-paced, and the events seem to happen quickly, with the season only being 6 episodes long, I felt like I wasn’t being forced into finishing the season, like you sometimes feel when starting a show that has already aired.

What don’t I like?

I don’t like Lori for a start, or Shane. I already know what happens to both of them and that makes me feel better about them being in the show, but I still dislike them. Every show as characters you’re going to hate, it’s just how it is.

I don’t like the gore. I know they’ve tried to make it as realistic as possible, but when you see half a zombie crawling around on the floor it’s a little bit freaky, too freaky for lil’ old me.

TWD 1

I didn’t really like that there’s no real ARC to the season. I don’t know if that’s a thing the director has done on purpose to try and show that in that life you live day to day, or if it’s something omitted by accident. I think a show needs some kind of storyline to happen all the way through, like you get in Teen Wolf.

Overall???

Overall, I liked the show. Despite it’s gore and violence, I still found it entertaining. I don’t think it’s going to become a favourite, it’s lacking something that makes me think of it as a masterpiece, but I think I will watch the rest of the seasons, and maybe that spark I’m looking for will come during one of those. Maybe the dialogue or the storylines are what’s holding me back, I like shows to be clever, to tie in and come full circle, and I don’t think I’ll get that with TWD.

I advise that if you’ve never seen the show and get the chance to, at least watch the first season. It cuts off at a neat(ish) end in episode 6 so if you decide not to carry on you won’t feel like you’re missing out. Give it a try!

Thank you for taking the time to read my post, and I hope you subscribe to my blog to see the TV, music and book posts I will post in the future. If you enjoyed this post be sure to show me some support by liking it, following me or letting me know what you thought over on Twitter at: @CharBennett_ or over on my Facebook page.

Have a great day!

Photo credit: giphy

P.S. Rick’s kind of cute, it’s the authority I think.

Leave a Reply

