The Boys of Summer – C.J. Duggan [Review]

It’s finally summer in the town of Onslow, Australia. Tess is working at her friend’s’ uncle’s hotel as a waitress along with her other best friend Ellie. One day, the Onslows boys’ steal her attention, specifically Toby, the sweet mechanic who talked to tess at a recent party. One catch, he’s older than her and he has a Girlfriend. Over the summer, Tess and Toby get closer, and a romance sparks.

1419176756

I’m a fan of Duggan’s work, and read this book about a year ago, however I’ve been putting off a review of the book (and the rest of the series) until now. Not because it’s bad, but because there’s too much to say. I’ve had to condense my thoughts about this book into a blog post, and it’s taken me a while to figure out how to do it.

What did I like about this book?

For a start, it’s realistic. The protagonist Tess is a normal girl, nothing exactly ‘special’ about her and she has the same awkward mannerisms we all had when we got out first crush. As for Toby, her beau, he’s not some jock or rockstar, he’s just toby the mechanic. and although his friend group is fairly well known in the area, they’re all normal guys.

Another thing I loved about this book is the pace the story has. It’s not so fast that within a few days they profess undying love to one another, but it’s not too slow that you give up on the book before it gets juicy. It’s just enough to keep you reading on, chewing your nails and waiting to get to the ‘happy ending’.

What didn’t I like?

Honestly, there’s not much I dislike about this book. I suppose if I was to get picky I would point out that I had no idea this was set in australia, because the way the character speak seems distinctly British. I make it through most of the book thinking it was set in England until someone mentioned ‘thongs’ as footwear.

I also wish there was more of Tess and Toby’s story after they get together. It ends with the happily ever after but aside from them being mentioned in the rest of the series we don’t get to really know what they do.

Overall score: 9/10 Well written and exciting, it’s like reliving your first crush over again.

What others are saying about this book:

Andie on Goodreads: Even better the second time around! No it’s not one of my favorite summer contemporaries, it is THE favorite! 5/5

Hannah on Goodreads: I cannot begin to describe the love I have for this book. Let’s just say if a book can keep you up all night until the sun rises and you can hear your neighbours go to work, then it’s definitely a winner. 5/5

Lesley on Goodreads: I stayed up until 2:37am to finish The Boys of Summer. To say I was gripped would be a massive understatement 5/5

Thanks for reading, if you enjoyed this post be sure to show me some support by liking it, following me or letting me know what you thought over on Twitter at: @CharBennett_ or over on my Facebook page. I love to chat about books, and I’m happy to give you recommendations.

Have a great day!

Photo credit: www.cjdugganbooks.com

Leave a Reply

