My Blogiversary!

A year ago this month, I sat at my computer and created something special. At the time, I was new to the ‘real world’ and after starting my new job in Marketing, I wanted to put my new skills to the test. But it was more than that for me. If you’ve ever read my bio, it will say it was a way to outlet my thoughts on reading and TV, and it’s right.

screenshot-wordpress.com 2015-11-18 07-19-03.png

Although my blog started as a test, not only for ym skills but for myself, to see how long I could keep it up for, I realised that it really helped me find myself.

It sounds really cheesy that it helped me find my true self, but it really did. I’ve never really been the kind of person who could keep up with new goals, like dieting, going to the gym or even promising I’d do my homework on time. My blog helped me overcome my problems with work commitment, and if you’re the same, I suggest a blog might be for you.

This isn’t just an ode to love of my life (digitally, I’m not a complete recluse) it’s a lookback on all that I’ve learnt this past year. The ups, downs and the really sordid details.

To start with, I’ve learnt that even if I think something will be difficult to do, it’s usually not that bad and all in my head. It started with telling myself that I could do the blog weekly, but then my self doubt crept in and I started to think that it would be do difficult and the words “I can’t” came tumbling from my mouth. But, a year on, after trying and trying, I find it difficult to believe that it’s so easy to em now. Like riding a bike or learning to swim you just have to keep trying and believe you can do it.

Something else I had to get used to was a schedule. Never the best when it came to homework or essays at school, I’ve always been a bit of a stranger to deadlines. No matter how much I plan something goes wrong, so I kind of gave up. But I was writing this blog for myself, and it felt wrong to give up, to stop trying to make things work out. So I sat down and made myself work it out.

Finally I’ve learnt that there are so many amazing people on the internet. I’m talking about the people who leave great comments, tweet me about my blog posts and the Authors and Pr reps who make my blog that much better. Without some of those people, my blog wouldn’t be where it is today, with a steady readership and some fantastic subscribers.

So, after a year of blogging, I think it’s fair to say that I’m in love with it. If you’re feeling kind of lost, have trouble keeping to schedules like me and want an outlet for your hobby or interest, a blog is the place to be. It’s bliss.

Thank you for taking to time to read this post. I know some of you will have been with me since the beginning, and some of you may be new to Basically Books Blog, but I am grateful to everyone who listens.

If you’d like to get in touch, or just say hi, the I’m on Facebook and Twitter at: @CharBennett_ as well as in the comments down below.

If you’re interested in staying a while, why not check out my very first  review: The end of an era, saying goodbye to Sea Breeze by Abbi glines.

Have a Great day!

-Charlotte x

One thought on “My Blogiversary!

Leave a Reply

