Cadence by Lisa Swallow [REVIEW]

Tegan is no stranger to the Rock star life, since her brother is in the biggest rock band on earth, but she doesn’t expect the effect Jax has on her when she joins her brother on tour in Europe. Jax is an up and coming rock star with a taste for the ladies, but Tegan is out of his reach, and he wants her. This whirlwind romance is gripping, and keeps you turning to page until the last one.

 

26037002.jpg

What did I like about this book?

First of all, I’m a fan of Lisa’s work, and have been slowly working my way through her books, and it’s taken me way too long to read Cadence. I first fell in love with her stories when I read Summer Sky last year and this is just as good, if not better.

The thing I like the most about the book (well, all of them) is that the character’s are British! As a brit, it’s nice to find a novel with relatable characters. Although the rock stars may not be relatable, the girls certainly are, with their less than perfect bodies, their attitudes and their mundane lives. Me in a nutshell!

But in all honesty, Cadence was one of those books I knew I was going to like, but not really having any idea what it was about before reading it. So when I found out it was a spin off to the Blue Phoenix books I was excited.

it’s really spunky, has lots of humour and makes you carry on reading until you’re falling asleep squiffy on your couch.

What didn’t I like?

Honestly? Not much. I really liked this book, and if I could pick out flaws in it, I would like another book for Jax and Tegan, but I am happy with this as a standalone.

Another thing I didn’t like so much was the falling out. I know couples argue and make rash decisions, and who knows? In a situation like Jax and Tegan’s it might be best to take a break, but it’s a slight pattern within all of the books I’ve read so far by Lisa. It’s not necessarily a bad thing, just not something I tend to like too much of.

Overall score: 8.5/10 A great read but not as good as Summer Sky.

What others are saying about this book.

Tina on Goodreads: First I will say that I have not read the other books in this series, but I was able to read without confusion. This is a new author to me, and I will read everything this author publishes from here on out. 5/5

Heather on Goodreads: Jax is easy to fall in love with despite the cocky side…..Tegan is one smart cookie she knows how to take advantage of things…I enjoyed this book I loved the characters and I can’t wait for the next book in the series. 5/5

Jennifer on Goodreads: There isn’t a book that Lisa Swallow could write that I wouldn’t absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE, and this book is no exception! Cadence is FANTASTIC! 5/5

Thank you for reading. If you would like to read more from me, you can find all of my blog posts on the blog. If you enjoyed this post, please let me know by liking the post, following me or leaving a comment. You can also find me on Facebook and Twitter.

If you’d like to see what Lisa is up to, check out her Twitter and Facebook pages to see her latest news and releases. She’s super nice and loves to chat, so hit her up!

Have a great day!

 

Photo Credit: Goodreads

Leave a Reply

