#MOTW – The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2

I might disagree with most people on what a ‘classic’ movie might be,since a lot of cult classics I’ve actually never seen. But, I do watch a lot of movies, and I feel like I have a somewhat decent grasp on what is good and what is ‘meh’ at best.

A way to make my blog better in 2016 is to make sure my content is consistent and new. Not only do I want to create more of it, but I want it to be a variety of different things.

My #MOTW (movie of the week) is The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2, mainly because I only got around to watching it yesterday.

The-Hunger-Games-Mockingjay-Part-1-Final-Poster-Wallpaper.jpg

I’ve never read the books of this series, however I’ve been an avid cinema goer for these movies since the original came out. So when I came round to watching the final installment yesterday, I was apprehensive but also excited to see how it turned out.

There was probably a huge amount missing from the books, and the fans of the series might have downplayed the film for that reason, but it was still an enjoyable watch. I liked the pace, it didn’t feel too long and the quality of the acting and set design was up to par with the previous movies.

I think a huge part of the credit goes to Jennifer Lawrence for her performance, because although she’s certainly done better films, she’s consistent in her character and makes Katniss seem more real.

The only thing I can mark it down for would be the ending. It might be the same (or different) to the book, but it felt like the four films lead up to this one big ending, and it only lasted for about 10 minutes of the film. I think they could have had a better and longer ending if they had cut out the scenes in MJ part 1 where president Coin is speaking for an age. (that women doesn’t know when to shut up)

I was satisfied with the ending though, and not to spoil it but I liked the little twist they put in there, it’s a very Katniss thing to do.

Who would enjoy this film?

People who like fantasy films such as Divergent, The Maze Runner and shows like The Shannara Chronicles and Shadowhunters.

It’s an enticing and interesting film, with a big cast and some great plot twists.

Thank you for reading. If you would like to read more from me, you can find all of my blog posts on the blog. If you enjoyed this post, please let me know by liking the post, following me or leaving a comment. You can also find me on Facebook and Twitter.

Have a great day!

 

Photo Credit: Exepose

Leave a Reply

