Ransom by Rachel Schurig [A Review]

Daltrey and Daisy have been best friends since they were small, but when Daltrey and his brothers get a record deal, they drift apart. After some cruel bullying at school Daisy is in a new town with a new life, without Daltrey. Can they reconnect after all that time, and with the pressures of Daltrey’s new fame looming over them.
21933426.jpg

To start off with, let me just say that I first read this book about 2 years ago. It was one of the first books I read about rock stars that I really liked, as well as something more tame, unlike my obsession with the grittier stuff at the time.

What did I like about it?

Who doesn’t want a sweet rock star to fawn all over them? This book is like the goldilocks of teen romance, super sweet but has just the right of spice to not be boring. The story started with a flashback to when they first met at a young age, and that made the book go from “ooh this sounds interesting” to “I like this already”. The personalities of the characters work really well together, even the supporting characters like Daltrey’s brothers and Daisy’s friends all fit together like a jigsaw.

I also really liked the pace of the book. It flowed really well with how I wanted it to go. I didn’t want it to rush into things and be too dramatic, and it lived up to my expectations in that department.

The Ransom brothers also totally remind of of R5 EVERY SINGLE TIME I picture them. Not a bad image huh?

What didn’t I like?

Nothing is perfect, no matter how much you love it. I didn’t like how fragile Daisy was all the time. I know she comes out of her shell more after some time and she has a backbone, but it was very typical for the gender stereotypes in romance books. Someday I’d like to read a book where the female is the put together one, but not a bitch and too fake. Where the guy has issues that the girl can fix, but not in a way where “loving you is my medicine”.

However This is a small fault not only in this book, but in most, so in hindsight it’s almost the perfect story.

Overall score: 9/10.

I’d highly recommend this book to anyone who wants something light and romantic to read without any soppy, cheesy lines and rushed romances. It does feature Daisy’s issues with mental health, and talks about suicide and anxiety. This might be a sensitive subject to some, if so, I suggest you skip this one.

 

What are others saying about this book?

Debra on Goodreads: It was a quick read with a limited amount of angst and some definite swoon worthy moments, told from a dual POV. 3.5/5

Jan on Goodreads: A beautiful story of best friends who supported each other from the age of five, both sharing the loss of a mother in their lives, giving them an instant and binding connection. 5/5

Chrissy on Goodreads: This is my first Rachel Schurig book, and I cannot wait to read more about the Ransom brothers 4.5/5

Thank you for reading. If you would like to read more from me, you can find all of my blog posts on the blog. If you enjoyed this post, please let me know by liking the post, following me or leaving a comment. You can also find me on Facebook and Twitter.

Have a great day!

 

Photo credit: Goodreads

Leave a Reply

